Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Help with paint or gelcoat.. currently blue but want it white. Any suggestions?  Bottom

• Good evening gentlemen,

I have an 84 hobie 16 that currently has blue hulls. Overall the color has faded pretty bad as the boat hasn't been used in over 10 years, however, the hulls are still in great shape aside from some scratches and scrapes here and there from mooring. There are no soft spots and the keels are still true to form. The problem I am having though is that I absolutely hate the color. I'm not sure why but an all white 16 is just a sexy catamaran and I would like to completely change the color if possible. So my question are:

- In order to completely change the color of my hobie to white, is it best to use gelcoat or paint when making this transformation? Again, I want to do away with the blue completely. I have some experience with fiberglass and keel jobs but I have never use gelcoat before. Friends in the past who have done larger projects have simply used the roll and tip method with gelcoat, which is likely the approach I would use if I go that route. However, after reading some things on here, I am not sure if I should use gelcoat on the entire boat or if using some type of marine paint would be better.

- Also, what methods would you suggest? If I do the gelcoat is the roll and tip method best? What about if painting is the best route?

I am trying to be as thorough as I can with my limited knowledge of painting catamarans so if you need any more information I'd be happy to provide it. Thanks again for your help.

Dante

--
    Dante Morsillo
    Hobie 16
    Pittsburgh, PA
    --