Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Staying warm this winter  Bottom

• The weather is cooling down quickly in SC, but I am not wanting winter to end my sailing season, At least not yet. What is the best gear to stay warm on the water. I have been suggested to get a spray top and wet-suit bottoms. I have no experience at all with wetsuits, and I have no idea how effective or in effective they might be on a cat. About the worst conditions I plan to even try to sail in would be about 50 degrees air and 55-60 water. The winds should be pretty high keeping us plenty wet both with spray and capsizing.

--
    Greenville SC

Offering sails and other go fast parts for A-class catamarans
    --
  • under 60 degrees of water and air i would recommend a dry-suite. with different layers under the dry-suite you can adjust to stay not to hot in it. i sail all winter long here on Long Island n.y.

bernd

nacra5.8 sc19
  • Full length wetsuits are windproof, & warm, the thicker the warmer, but the thicker they are, the more restrictive they are.
    Here is a guide for you.
    http://360guide.info/wets…uit-guide.html?Itemid=58
    http://360guide.info/wets…ure-chart.html?Itemid=19
    Remember to use caution. What might be suitable gear for the 1st 10 days of sailing may prove inadequate should you flip the boat, & break something, resulting in being unable to right it & having to spend a couple hours in the water. Or, you rip a wetsuit open in an area of high heat loss, groin, armpits, sides of chest.
    You guys have way better Coast Guard coverage than we do, all the same make sure responsible people know how long it will be til you contact them, then stick with your plan. Being stranded on a broken boat in the summer is normally just an inconvenience, once air/water cool down hypothermia is a killer.