Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

H16 Hull damage and repair  Bottom

• I just got a 1989 H16 that has extensive damage to the deck of the starboard hull forward of the front tramp casting. The crack goes from rail to rail and about 12" long. I can see into the hull. I can send a picture, I just havnt been able to figure out how to post one here. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Since the deck is pressed in im not sure if the area should be cut away or to pull the deck up and fiberglass over it, just not sure how to go about it. I have some fiberglass experience I just need direction.
    Thanks in advance.
    Todd
  • tdsurfI just got a 1989 H16 that has extensive damage to the deck of the starboard hull forward of the front tramp casting. The crack goes from rail to rail and about 12" long. I can see into the hull.

First, welcome to TheBeachcats.com, glad you found our community.

That sounds like pretty serious damage, do you know how it happened? Is the damage strictly limited to the deck? Does the crack include the deck lips?

That is one of the worst places you could have damage, just in front of the pylon is a very stressed part of the hull.
    tdsurfI can send a picture, I just havnt been able to figure out how to post one here. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Since the deck is pressed in im not sure if the area should be cut away or to pull the deck up and fiberglass over it, just not sure how to go about it. I have some fiberglass experience I just need direction.
    Thanks in advance.
    Todd

There are complete instructions about creating your photo album and posting pictures to the forum in the FAQ here.
    http://www.thebeachcats.c…s/pictures-in-forum-faq/