Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Prindle 16 In Havasu  Bottom

• Hello,
    I'm new to sailing catamarans but have sailed quite a few times years ago in Guam. I resurrected an old 1975 Prindle literally out of a barn in Southern California. I'm working on bringing the boat back to top form (New Trampoline from SLO sail, All New Rigging and line, Sails were in perfect shape) and will be sailing her in Lake Havasu Arizona until I move back to the coast. Only missing one Part so far, (the tiller extender I believe its called) although I have rigged up a length of aluminum tubing for the time being. Hopeing to take her out for her shake down cruise this weekend
    I found your guys site and have been looking around extensively into the forums and have been learning quite a bit. Thank you all in advance for any advice or help you give.
    Anyone els on here from the Havasu area?
    Zack
  • Sounds like a great boat. Tiller extensions are also called hiking sticks so you you can steer while your hiked out on the trapeze. Nice ones can be a bit pricey. They come in aluminum and fiberglass versions. The aluminum are a bit cheaper but not as durable. They are telescoping so you can adjust the length you need. I have 2 unsued at home that the the little pieces that let you lock in the length are shot so I cannot use them. One came with the boat and I broke it my first sail by using it extended out to far. The other I got from Pete Begle on this forum he may have others. Pete is at Big Bear and may have lots of goodies for your prindle give him a call at 909-800-5237. That one the the little rubber piece that locks it at length is shot.

Some people have been know to also use a cheap telescoping painters stick but they are not made for one handed telescoping usually.