Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Phoenix 18 Catamaran Questions  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• Hi Everyone,

Newbie here with a Phoenix 18 Catamaran in good shape (sails, hulls etc)
    The guy says it really flys. Does anybody know anything about this hull?
    Is it like a Hobie 18, less the banana shaped hulls?

Reaallly new here, sailed a Hobie 14 as a teenager. Never an 18 tho..what should i be aware of?? icon_eek icon_eek icon_eek

Edited by argento102 on Jun 05, 2011 - 08:18 PM.

--
    D Johns
    Phoenix 18 KC#126
    Port Hope Ontario

"If I put 2 Spinnakers on it, will it go faster?"
    --
  • If you put 2 mainsails on it, IT WILL GO OVER
  • No idea except what I could find on the internet and some photos. It was designed in 1965 and was made from wood and fiberglass. It has about the same sail area as most boats in that size range. Has centerboards that swing into the hulls, so the hulls are symmetric and relatively straight, should tack better than an H14. The sail plan looks lower aspect (wider and shorter) that most 18 ft cats, that may make it a little less controllable. Otherwise it looks like a small Tornado, if it's in good shape you should have piles of fun on it!

Specific parts will definitely not be available but unless you break your boards or castings that shouldn't be a big problem. When you need new rigging send the old rigging to the rigger to measure, when you need a new tramp do the same with a tramp manufacturer. I would be most interested in seeing the rudder mechanism and front beam/mast step mechanism. If those ever wear out or break you would probably have to get pieces custom made or steal a system from another boat type (usually easier than it sounds but it can be expensive).

Regards,
    Dave

--
    Dave Bonin
    1981 Nacra 5.2 "Lucile"
    1986 Nacra 5.7 "Belle"
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    --