Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

When to tack?  Bottom

• I am fairly new to cat racing, so please excuse me if this is has an obvious answer.

I was wondering if there is a rule of thumb for when to tack during a race? I have a book on cat sailing, but this topic is not addressed. In a recent race while sailing hard to weather, I found myself staying on a particular tack longer than most other boats, so I felt like I was sailing way off the straight line path to the finish. How do you weigh the extra sailing distance of staying on a tack longer and the extra time to tack the boat?
  • Tactics excluded I'd not sail much past the point when you can make your target hard a beam and tack through a little more than 90 degrees in practice. Don't overstay your mark and you will do fine. But sailing away from all the rest brings the risk that they may hit better winds and leave you behind. It could be the other way around though, but don't bet on it unless you have local knowledge on your side!