Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

launching beach cat from trailer  Bottom

• had a few ?s
    1) has any body heard of launching off a trailer with the sails raised and fully rigged.
    2) i live in Jacksonville fl on the west side by the river where is the best place to launch would be willing to make a trip. has to be cheap (by nas jax)
    hope you can help happy sailing icon_cool
  • I am sure some have tried it, once. I think it would work under two condition. 1) It is dead calm, 2) Your car is pointed dead into the wind.

--
    Nacra 5.2
    --
  • yes it is possible, and has been done, but if you get a gust while rigging on the trailer.. you may have some issues.

Also since most people trail their boat with bows to the car.. you will be backing your rigged boat backwards off your trailer.. not the best method
  • I'm new to cat sailing and have only been out three times now with my own cat, but I catch on quick and have been reading quite a bit as well as watching every youtube video I can find(a lot to learn from watching others sail).

It's probably a really bad idea to launch a beach cat from a trailer with the mainsail up.

I launch my cat from my trailer every time. I step up the mast while on the trailer, then raise the jib and furl it(if you dont have a furler, I would probably just leave it uncleated) . I leave the mainsail rolled up on the trampoline, while I back the cat in to the water via boat ramp or beach. Then I either paddle out to open water or just push off a dock/beach. Once I'm on open water I raise the mainsail and sheet everything in and take off.