Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Newbie here from Mobile AL with a few questions.  Bottom

• As stated I am new to the sailboat scene and have just bought a 2007 Hobie Getaway as our (me, my wife and 3yo daughter) first sailboat. I have never been sailing but I have been on the water my entire life with a fuel burner behind me. Now that I have bought the boat I have read that there is really no where on Mobile bay to launch unless you have a beach dollie. My question is how do you get the boat from the trailer on to the beach dollie then to the water? Also is this a good boat to begin with. I bought it from a local that has used it maybe 10 times for $2500 including the trailer. It is in excellent shape, I hope I did not pay too much being I had no idea what I was looking at. Is there any good articles or write ups online to teach me the basics of sailing? I look forward to getting on the water with it next weekend if the weather permits. Thanks in advance for your inputs and I look forward to spending more time on this forum. icon_biggrin

edited by: av8erdunn, Jul 18, 2010 - 04:52 PM
  • Awesome stuff! Welcome aboard. You got an excellent deal for such a new boat! Getaways are very stable and easy to sail so it was a great choice for a starter boat!

One easy thing for a beginners primer is to pick up a book. Catamaran Racing for the 90s is the Bible for catamaran sailors but isn't a basic book.

My favorites intro books are:

Catamaran Sailing from Start to Finish by Phil Berman
    http://www.amazon.com/Cat…ks&qid=1279490935&sr=8-1

and
    The Catamaran Book by Brian Phipps
    http://www.amazon.com/Cat…ks&qid=1279490935&sr=8-8

You should also try and get in touch with a local catamaran fleet or club if there is one. It's much quicker to learn how to sail from someone in person than from a book. A local hobie dealer can usually point you in the right direction.