Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Nacra 5.8- Years of Production / Pricing  Bottom

• Hello- I am new to Nacras and looking for a little advice before I pull the trigger on a purchase. I have a seller that says his boat was built in 1999. Have these boats been built every year since the early 80's? I have done some research and have not seen other boats for sale that are 1999's.

The hull has "Nacra" in a aqua green color and "5.8" in red above the tail on the cursive "a". This is located in the middle of the Hull.

If you know what year / vintage this boat is, what do you think it should sell for if in decent condition? The location is in the Ohio near the great lakes.

I really appreciate any help that you can offer.

Thanks,

Tad

• I?m not positive, but I think the last of the 6.0?s, 5.8?s and 5.5?s were built in ?02. The hull ID number should be on the starboard hull behind the rear beam on top outboard corner. The last 2 numbers are the year of manufacture. Should be something like NACH0236F099

Decals can be changed so I have no faith in the graphics.

It's worth what a buyer is willing to pay and not a penny more.

--
    Ron
    Nacra F18
    Reservoir Sailing Assn.
    Brandon, Mississippi
    --
  • i think they started being made new in about 1978 in the usa, (solid glass hulls with stringers visible through the ports on the inner hull)

then they switched to foam sandwich hulls in about 1985, no stringers on inner hull

and i think they are still being made new in australia

search this forum for "old nacra numbers" to see a thread about identifying build year from the number stamped on the rear of the hull

you would have to assume it was worth somewhere between this 1982 boat and an f18

http://www.thebeachcats.com/classifieds/showproduct.php/product/10329/cat/1

http://www.thebeachcats.com/classifieds/showproduct.php/product/10329/cat/1

edited by: erice, May 26, 2010 - 07:01 PM