Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

re-gelcoating p-16 hulls  Bottom

• hi gang, fixing up the ole BLUE RIBBON this winter and one of the chores is some glass work on the keels as well as spraying fresh gelcoat. was wondering if anyone has some products they have used that they would recommend. i know gelcoat is much more labor than just painting but i plan on keeping her for several years. also, if you have done this yourself, any pitfalls to look out for. i have been a paint contractor for 25 years with much experience with glass, auto finish and body work but this is my first rodeo with gelcoat spraying. your horror stories are welcome, a wise man once told me you never stop paying for your education!!

--
    Check out "Prindle Sailors" on Facebook!
    bill harris
    hattiesburg, mississippi
    prindle 16- "BLUE RIBBON"
    --
  • hmmmmm, not good, really hoping someone been down that road. paint is much easier but not nearly as tough. i'll keep searching.

--
    bill harris
    hattiesburg, mississippi
    --
  • I dont know if only waiting a few hours is going to be enough time to get a response back.

I know for a fact there are about 10,000,000,000 threads on the forums that already have the info you are looking for. Take a look using the search bar.
  • I did a minor bottom job and ding repairs last spring. It's not impossible to do.

I didn't have any glass work to do fortunately just gelocat. I discovered that the bottoms of one of my hulls was down to the glass and just rebuilt it gelcoat to original levels.

I tired the perval sprayer and had some difficulty with viscosity and soon realized I needed more chemicals to create the right flow mix. So, I tried the foam brush applicator technique and it worked perfectly.

I used a finish gelcoat that didn't require additives like wax for drying or mold release for sealing. I bought straight finish gelcoat from West Marine as it only requires MEKP for proper cure.