Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

New to my area and................  Bottom

• New to sailing. I live in Poulsbo, Washington now and my girlfriend and I have been looking at larger cats for the family fun. She has been on the beach cats before and knows a little about them. We are older folks - pushing fifty. Our children are from fifteen to twenty-four years old.

There is a marina close by our house but no one has a cat. We did buy the book "Sailing for Dummies" and found it most useful.

We found two Hobie Cats in old but usable shape for under five hundred dollars each or the both for eight hundred dollars. But unsure of their condition, we passed on them.

I am a carpenter with a full cabinet shop and one that can build anything. I spend lots of time learning everything I can. I have bought the books on wood boat building from Glen L Marine and a book on lofting from the same company. I found them simple and don't beleave it to be a problem doing so. We were looking at building a thirty foot cat with an open deck using the strip cedar method. One that could play here in the Puget Sound or be used for coastal tripping. I think the only thing slowing us down is that we want to make sure it's an investment that we want to do.

I think what we are looking for is someone that would be willing/interested in showing us what to look for in rigging and structure conditions on a used cat. Maybe a pointer or two in how to get started once we get one.

Being winter time here, it could be just as simple to build a smaller beach cat but not knowing this area very well, or who to go too, I wouldn't know where to get the rigging or what's involved. Also, what size would you suggest for the first timer?
  • I've seen Wharram's designs and find them a bit too islander/tribal for me. I'm leaning toward the Woods design. I have talked with him while he was up in the British Columbia area sailing with his wife. His prices are more reasonable as well.