Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

how to maximize apparent wind....  Bottom

• OK, thanks all again who participated... in my questions on the other thread.

now if you read through the other post you can get an idea of what apparent wind is... it is what the sail (or your face) feels as the wind.. and you need to sail to that.

it is my understanding and method:
    the way to build your apparent wind is to go faster.. the faster you go.. the more you move the wind direction

an example is: riding a bike with a breeze that is blowing in your ear to start .. will move to your cheek and eventually straight your nose when you hit enough speed (similar to the car example)...

but this doesn't mean much if you dont know how to maximize apparent wind.. and the physics also dont mean much if it isn't utilized.

now i am no expert, and as i said.. as of last year.. i had no clue. it wasn't until i was sailing with a 74 year old and he told me when i had it and when i lost it.

I had heard of it, and had the concept down.. but couldn't recognize when i was taking advantage of it, or when i lost it...

SO ... what i do.. is build my speed up to move the apparent wind (or move it forward) and then i fall off.. and slowly point up.. and repeat. this is much more obvious (or APPARENT) downwind... as you point higher.. you go faster.. then fall off.. and enjoy the speed... and repeat..if done correctly.. you can keep that going until you are going faster than the actual wind...

here are 2 links.. 1 is for kids and makes sense,. the other is for rocket scientists.. and puts me into a coma...

http://boatsafe.com/kids/bramp1099.htm

http://londonarea.ms-sc.o…rt2/sail/BasicTheory.doc

please edit or add your own thoughts / corrections...

edited by: andrewscott, Sep 24, 2009 - 04:51 PM
  • OK so here's the part I've not been able to get. And it is described the same way you describe it in other references.