Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

roll and tip vs. spraying??  Bottom

• hello,

im in the processing of restoring an old beachcat. i was wondering what are the pro's and con's of these methods of painting. i have interlux toplac paint laying around and sponge rollers so i was thinking the roll and tip method. but my friend just acquired a spray gun so that gives me another option. ive read on different forums that roll and tip can actually give a better glossy finish. what are your experiences?

o yea and i cant find my palm sander. i just have a orbital sander. do you think its to fast and should get a palm sander i feel like the hulls are super thin.
  • i have little working knowledge of painting boats, but i do have years of experience spray painting explosives (was in the navy).

the only comment i have is...
    2 part paints are VERY TOXIC and full body closed breathing systems are used by pro's for a good reason. So if you plan to spray.. you will probably want to rent a spray booth and gear to protect yourself.. that may influence your final costs and decisions.

(a cheap mast/filter will not work)
  • mariofhello,

im in the processing of restoring an old beachcat. i was wondering what are the pro's and con's of these methods of painting. i have interlux toplac paint laying around and sponge rollers so i was thinking the roll and tip method. but my friend just acquired a spray gun so that gives me another option. ive read on different forums that roll and tip can actually give a better glossy finish. what are your experiences?

o yea and i cant find my palm sander. i just have a orbital sander. do you think its to fast and should get a palm sander i feel like the hulls are super thin.