Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Raising Mast??  Bottom

• Hi everyone I'm a new Hobie 16 owner thanks to a very genorous customer of mine. I'm having some trouble with raising the mast though. I get the mast in place and hooked up to the step link put it on my shoulder and as I began to raise the mast I get it about to my head and it just wont go any farther. The link is hitting the mast base and not letting me raise the mast any farther. I'm completely new to sailing so I dont know if i'm doing it wrong or what?? Oh and none of the shrouds or anything was hung up on anything. Do i need a new link maybe?
  • There are normally two holes in the link. One hole is for the H16 and the other is for the H14. If you're using the H14 hole, that might be causing the problem. Also, you may want to double check that the shrouds aren't getting stuck under the tramp. Sometimes they'll be clear when you start stepping the mast, and then they'll slide under something as it starts to come up, which would cause it to stop right about head level.

edited by: rhuntbach, May 05, 2009 - 11:13 PM
  • Welcome to Beachcats.com JonT.