Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Nacra 5.8 Split dagger board  Bottom

• Hit some rocks and split one of my dagger boards (and i hit them not 5 seconds after saying the words, let's pull up the dagger boards i think there may be rocks around this area... icon_mad ). Split is about 3" long and 1.5" wide, i can see the core inside.

My initial thought was to clear it out so the split piece will lie back down flat and then crack it open, fill it with Epoxy, clamp it down and call it a day.

is there any reason why this wouldn't work? would i want to use glass fiber anywhere to reinforce the area?

I have never done a fiberglass repair before so i'm a complete noob, i searched for dagger board repair questions and most seem to be replacing missing bits, mine is pretty well in tact, just a section is split.

What is the correct stuff to use for a late 80's vintage Nacra dagger board? any tips or tricks to make sure it is plenty strong?

Sorry for the lack of pictures, i meant to take some this weekend and didn't have my phone on me, now i'm at work and don't have the daggerboard handy.

Thanks

--
    1987 Nacra 5.8
    1978 Isotope (sold)
    --
  • Very simple repair just as you invisioned. Only buy the 404 or other microballoons when you buy the qt of West epoxy and the pumps to get the 5:1 mix. This will thicken the epoxy so it doesn't run out of crack. And of course use clamps. Pete