Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Choosing the right Hobie Cat...  Bottom

• I am new to catamaran sailing, although I have been sailing other small boats (mostly 420s) for about two years. I had the chance to sail a Hobie Getaway while vacationing at a resort in Mexico; I thoroughly enjoyed the whole catamaran experience. I live in MN.

Now that I have some background info cleared up, I would like to pose a question: If I were to get a small Hobie Cat, what kind would be recommended? I was looking at the 16 and the Getaway, because I would like to be able to carry a few passengers, but still go fast.

The main difference I noted between the two was speed and carrying capacity, with the 16 being faster and the Getaway being a better passenger boat. I have also seen that the two boats are made of different materials. Could someone please clarify the major differences, if any, between the two hull types?

Additionally, I'd like to know how hard it is to carry extra people on a 16 (in light-medium winds), and whether a trapeze system is included with the 16.

Sorry for such a long post. Any reply would be much appreciated! Thanks!
  • I'm new to cat sailing as well and I've been researching the questions you have asked for a few months. The cat you decide to buy basically depends on how you answer the following two questions.

What do you want to do with your cat; daysail with friends/family, race or a mixture of the two? Getaway's are clearly better suited for sailing with groups. However, they can also be sailed single handed and fly hulls. H16's are better for racing because there are more to race against. You can sail an H16 with 4 adults on it, in light to medium winds but your sailing performance will be limited. The 16 is a powerful boat and it has more sail area than the Getaway.