Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Solcat/General beachcat Questions  Bottom

• Hey everyone, winter is finally starting to wear off and everyday I'm wanting to take out my solcat for the first time. My problems are that I now have a way to get my mast up (bought a winch) but I was not thinking and am a poor 18 yr old so I only got a one way winch, I have no idea how to get the mast down without basically dropping it in a freefall and taking out the garage behind it. Any tips?

Next thing....there's a couple soft spots on one hull, I was reading and it seems that it is delamination? That seems like it can be fixed through injecting lamenting resin into the hull.

The boat was sitting outside for 14 years before I got it off craigslist, so lots of TLC, but those are the 2 big things holding me back right now.

Thank you for reading and any help you can give!
  • Hi Ashi

I have been sailing a 76 Solcat for several years and agree with you that raising the mast is the worst about rigging this boat, that said Send me an E-mail address and I will send a method of raising your Solcat mast along with pictures.

Jeff O

--
    Jeff O
    N5.0
    solcat 18(sold),
    N5.2,
    H16
    Camarillo CA
    --
  • Hi Ashi

I have been sailing a 76 Solcat for several years and agree with you that raising the mast is the worst about rigging this boat, that said Send me an E-mail address and I will send a method of raising your Solcat mast along with pictures.

Jeff O

--
    Jeff O
    N5.0
    solcat 18(sold),
    N5.2,
    H16
    Camarillo CA
    --
  • ohmsjHi Ashi

Jeff O

Hi Jeff

Thank you for replying, I will deffinately send you my email. Though I'm pretty sure I can get the mast up, my problem now is how to get it down.
    Any tips on that part?