Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Noob Question re: Hobie Getaway  Bottom

• Hello all,

What a great site! I've been windsurfing for 18 years, but am a brand new Cat sailor. The kids are old enough to enjoy/teach sailing to and I thought it was time to buy a boat. I just bought a used 2001 Hobie Getaway (sans trailer). Lack of a trailer isn't a problem as I live on a small lake here in New Hampshire where I will be sailing it. I don't plan to dock or moor it due to the great advice I've seen here in the forums.
    My Question: can I keep the mast up and rigged all summer if I pull the boat up on the beach, or should I drop the mast? Also it seems to be a good idea to cover at least the tramp when not in use to keep it out of the sun - is that practical?

Thanks for such a great resource!

Best Regards,

Dave

edited by: ATCDave, Mar 16, 2009 - 03:34 PM
  • Dave,
    You can leave the mast up. Take the sails inside. You might want to tie the boat down so that a strong wind wont blow it over.
  • you can leave it mast up... but secure everything that might move... yes tie it down (and take the mast down) in real windy conditions.

Yes cover the tramp(s), blocks and the lines to protect them from UV damage.

Don't leave the jib furled up on the boat... the UV will eat it and it could get lose in a storm... (and your cat will fly)
  • Thanks guys for your insight. I'm considering making a rack of wood or PVC (like in the tech gallery) in the water to be able to store the boat above the water - instead of dragging up on the beach and wearing down the hulls. I will definitely lash 'er down when not in use!

Best,

Dave
  • Getaway are Roto-molded and very resistant to wear and abuse... that being said... dragging up a beach is basically sanding it... they do make (or you can fabricate) beach dollies... they are great