Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

BeachCat recomendation  Bottom

• Hi, I am new to catamarans.
    My main interest with them is to joyride. For example, having 5-10 people in the trampoline and just fun cruising.

I am interested in something similar to the Hobie, but I can only find them up to 16-18ft. Usually the website says that it is only for 2-3 people.

Could someone please recommend me a catamaran of this style>?

Thanks!
  • Hi, and welcome to the group, though we're probably not what you're looking for!

Definitions vary, but generally speaking a "beach cat" is a boat of - more or less - up to 20' long (and 10' wide) that can be trailered, put together and launched off a ramp or beach and sailed by - again, more or less - one, two, or maybe three people. It actually has less to do with the number of bodies on board than it does the total crew weight. These are recreational and racing boats that are completely open to the elements, so no cabins, berths, etc. You might find one of us piling half a dozen little kids on one of the bigger beach cats for a cruise on a sunny day without too much wind, but 5-10 adults is getting way out of our range.

You're really looking for a "cruising" catamaran, and there are other fora dedicated to those larger boats.

There are some boats that kind of bridge the gap between these two worlds, like the Stiletto 27 that was made back in the 80s, and you still see them around. That might start to get you into the right territory.

But this forum is full of people a lot smarter than me, so I look forward to what they have to offer.

--
    Southern Alberta and all over the damn place.
    1981 SuperCat 20 "Roberts' Rockets"
    1983 SuperCat 19
    TriFoiler #23 "Unfair Advantage"
    Mystere 17
    Unicorn A-Class (probably made by Trowbridge) that I couldn't resist rescuing at auction.
    H18 & Zygal (classic) Tornado - stolen and destroyed - very unpleasant story.