Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

First beachcat for solo sailing.  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 [+1]:

• Looking for my first sailboat. I have very little sailing experience with a recreational Sunfish - ultra simple rig, not the race version.

I want a beachcat to start with. I have Hobie Wave, Topaz 14C, and RS Cat 14 in my mind. I am 150lb.

I wish to be able to sail a Hobie 16, but I don't think I can sail it singlehanded at this stage.

Any ideas or recommendations?

Edited by sun on Nov 23, 2022 - 11:15 PM.
  • The first question is, why do you want to sail a Hobie 16?

The Hobie 16 can be sailed solo'd, just dont go out in conditions that a newbie shouldn't be going out in. One advantage of the H16, is the popularity and availability.

I don't see the point in getting a simpler boat than the H16 and then upgrading later, the H16 isnt a bad boat to start with.

Find a local club that has a beach cat fleet and have a chat, I'm sure their will be opportunities to crew etc they also generally go out together and with a support vessel.

Edited by johnoau on Nov 24, 2022 - 05:12 PM.

--
    1335 XTSea Nacra 5.8 NA
    605 Nacra 4.5
    Cleveland Yacht Club
    Brisbane, AU
    --
  • H16 as a first? Certainly many have, successfully. Heck, I started with a H21, about as far from a starter boat as you can get, but I had/have help. It's too big for many beginner mistakes, but none of the boats you're considering are very tolerant to beginner abuse. What you will find is that if you start simple/slow you'll likely get bored wanting more performance pretty quick. It's that much fun, even if you're not competing.

I'd get a boat with a jib, to make tacking easier and a little more performance. Find out where folks are sailing and get some initial help, especially on-water coaching.

--
    Chuck C.
    H21SE 408
    --