Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Just got a topcat 9’1” which is near impossible to find info on  Bottom

• I’m not sure if the rigging is correct (I’m new to sailing), it consists of only 2 pulleys, one at the end of the boom and the other at the aft of the boat. I’ve never seen any rig like this. Also, I don’t think I have the pulleys set up correctly.
    https://ibb.co/7vrF6t9
    https://ibb.co/sqWPmT0
  • Since the two photos are different, the "more right" one is the closeup. You just need to learn to tie a bowline on that becket on the bottom block rather than using an overhand knot, which won't hold.

Other than that, it looks like the block itself is trashed (there doesn't appear to be much left of the sheave), and although there's probably not a lot of force on this rig, you'd never catch anyone here trying to use one of those little fake keyring carabiners for anything.

Edited by jonathan162 on Aug 08, 2021 - 03:19 AM.

--
    Southern Alberta and all over the damn place.
    1981 SuperCat 20 "Roberts' Rockets"
    1983 SuperCat 19
    TriFoiler #23 "Unfair Advantage"
    Mystere 17
    Unicorn A-Class (probably made by Trowbridge) that I couldn't resist rescuing at auction.
    H18 & Zygal (classic) Tornado - stolen and destroyed - very unpleasant story.
    Invitation and Mistral and Sunflower and windsurfers w/ Harken hydrofoils and god knows what else...
    --
  • agreed. you don't want your liness rubbing against themselves. ditto on the bowline knot. find some local who will go out with you and assess the boat in total. can that tramp be cinched up a bit? The first pic is the direction you want to go.

--
    1978 H18
    1983 H18 (some of it)
    --
  • On your “pulleys”, does the other side have little bent wires that hold the “axle” in the block?
    If so, you can remove those wires, slide the broken sheave out, & replace it.
    If they are riveted in, you need a new block.