Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Nacra 500 rigging question  Bottom

• Hi! This is my first time posting here. I hope I am doing it correctly.
    I was hoping to get some help on how to rig a Nacra 500 sport. My particular problem is getting the tack on the jib rigged appropriately as well as the rigging of the spinnaker. I am befuddled and frustrated. I am located in Rehoboth Beach, DE (if anybody is close). I would love pics, videos, or any other help. Thanks a bunch in advanced.
  • I owned one of these for ten years and hated the factory jib rigging system. Can't comment on the spinnaker. At the apex of the bridle was a fitting like a shroud adjuster with a tab welded onto it. The tack of the jib is shackled to that tab. There are two problems with this; First, the jib leads have no fore and aft adjustment. You can get some adjustment by using one of the three holes in the clew plate but for me it was not enough. A slight difference in the height of the tack will give you all adjustment you need but that tab is fixed. Second, the factory system makes it extremely hard to get proper rig tension. Get rid of that fitting and put a bow shackle on the end of the headstay and take a piece of 3/16ths line and loop it around between the bow shackle and whatever fitting you have on the apex of the bridle and you'll have purchase to easily tighten the rig. Tie off with a few half hitches and use the tailing end to attach to your jib tack at whatever height it takes to get those sheet leads to pull toward the center of effort on your jib.

--
    Bill Townsend
    G-Cat 5.0
    Sarasota
    --
  • Hi Bill. Thanks for the response. I would expect the apex of the brindle to have an area for the tack of the jib. Having the spinnaker pole complicates things quite a bit. I was hoping for pics, videos, diagrams to help with the correct rigging. I am more of a visual learner. Thanks again for your response and help, but I am still confused.