Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Class Scene in Dallas, Tx?  Bottom

• I'm new to sailing and wanting to get into cat racing. My parents were HUGE into the scene in the 80's and tell me I need to seriously consider what the most active classes are in the area in order to pick one that's right for me. Can anyone offer any advice on class selection in the Texas/Oklahoma region? I know the Hobie 16 is always an active class - but what about open classes or Nacras? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
  • I'm new to sailing as well and I live in Plano. My best recommendation is that you contact the local Hobie Fleet. They sail at Lake Lewisville. The people in the fleet have been extremely helpful to me and I'm sure they know plenty about all of the the racing around here. Not just Hobie but other classes as well.

Here's the link to the website. http://www.hobiefleet23.com/

Pick one of the officers and send them an email. Lil Baker has been great at responding to my questions.

Best wishes.

Michael
  • Thanks for the advice. I had already planned on getting togethor with Fleet 23. Hobie Division 14 looks like really the only game in town. What kind of boat did you end up going with?
  • TxMattD,

I ended up selecting an H16. However my deciding factor was different than yours. At 43 I seem to be a little older than the typical cat beginner. Therefore I have family and budgets to consider. I needed something that I could have fun sailing with my almost 7 year old son, plus have the ability to carry 4 people on it. At the same time it needed to be quick to rig and derig, as I will have time limits at the lake, and it had to fit within my budget.