Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Getting into sailing. Beachcat first?  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• Greetings!

I'm getting into sailing. I'm actually about to take some certification courses aboard a 30-ish foot monohull (my hope being that I can someday rent a boat and sail around the Mediterranean and/or Caribbean for a few weeks at a time). That said, my goal locally (Charleston, S.C.) is to get into a speedy beachcat, like a Hobie 18. I don't think that's the first step, though. That seems like it'd be a super-intimidating first boat.

Once I have some knowledge and experience sailing the large monohull, what should my first cat be? I'll most likely be a crew of one (6'1", 175 lbs.). I'm trying to find something used in the $2,000-$3,000 range that's stable, relatively simple to set up, and light enough that I can tow it behind my Nissan sedan. Obviously, I'd like it to be as fast and fun as possible, but I understand that some of the things that make certain boats ideal for beginners will also rob them of performance.

The two things I'm looking at right now are the Hobie Wave and Hobie Bravo. It looks like the Wave is probably more exciting, but it's also a fair amount more expensive ($3,000-$5,000 for the Wave, $2,000-$2,500 for the Bravo). Is it worth the difference? Are there any other brands/models I should be looking at?

Thanks in advance!
  • Unless you're handicapped or over 70, forget the Hobie Wave or Bravo; get a Prindle 16 or H-16, reef them if it's blowing and get out there. Did we have a choice in the '70's or early 80's. No, we capsized, pitchpoled and generally scared ourselves so that we could handle bigger stuff. Pete
  • +1 on what Pete said. For the price, performance, ease of sailing, and overall grin factor, the P16 or the H16 simply can't be beat.

--
    Tim
    81 Hobie 16
    87 Nacra 5.7
    Austin, TX
    --