Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Need some Advice on technique  Bottom

• New guy. Used to sail hobie whenever i went on vacation in the islands. Never had a problem. I am not a proficient sailor. Always a uni rig.

Anyway now own a supercat (ARC ) 17.

Main and jib. Lots of issues when i bought the boat. On the way to first sail and I lost the sail bag with the main and tiller. Pretty much flew out of bed of my truck .Lesson learned.

Took a few weeks for replacement. Thankful for insurance.

First sail I managed to tear the sail at bolt rope. No idea how. Was repaired by Aquarius at no charge. Next time out I broke a couple of battens. The ARC battens are tapered hollow tubes made of i believe fiberglass or other composite.

Tom at Aquarius felt it may have been from a violent jibe. Lesson learned. Center traveler and pull in mainsheet before jib and do not allow boom to swing violently. Got replacement battens in mail.

Tom has been helpful to say the least.

This weekend went sailing for my third attempt. nice wind 8-10 with gusts to about 16 per weather report.

Had a blast for about an hour and than disaster.

I was turning from windward to a sort of beam reach and speed picked up quickly ! Next thing i know my sailing buddy is doing a cartwheel through the air and she lands about 20 yards from the boat. i fall into the sail and mange to bend the bottom batten (serves as a boom) and snap a couple of others.

Now never having practiced righting I had no clue what to do. i did NOT have righting lines attached to the forward beam as I should have.

We capsized close to shore so in a few minutes boat was beached and my friend had to be rescued and brought to shore.

With help we got the cat righted and limped home on broken battens