Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Moving to Florida SpaceCoast - current state of cat racing?  Bottom

• Hi guys, I've co-oped in Melbourne the past few years and now will be moving there for a full time job when I graduate in May. I sailed this past summer with CRAM in Michigan on my Hobie 16. I'm hoping to keep sailing regattas every few weeks next summer but I'm not sure where to look. I know Space Coast Catamaran Association used to meet up once a month at Kelly park. And they also do Hiram's Haul. Then Scott runs Wednesday night Wave races at Pineda. Are there any other organized races/regattas in the area? I'm willing to drive a bit for some good sailing. I'm just learning to race but I had a blast with CRAM this summer and want to continue next year.

--
    -Zach
    --
  • Hey Zach

Congrats on the position, although I selfishly wish it was a bit further north. From observation over the last few years, it seems the sailing season down there is fall-winter-spring. From what I've heard the summers are not pleasant to sail in: Light winds and lots of thunderstorms.

I'm thinking of attending Tradewinds and Charlotte Harbor next Jan/Feb.

Hopefully some local guys will chime in.

Jeff

--
    Jeff R
    '88 H18 "Jolly Mon"
    '10 C2 USA1193
    NE IN / SE MI
    cramsailing.com
    --
  • Hey Jeff

I'll miss CRAM for sure. I wish there was something like CRAM in Florida. Maybe I'll have to start something! When I was down in Florida for the summers before the weather wasn't bad. Hot, windy, and rainy. It was more consistent sailing weather than summers around here. You're right though, fall, winter, and spring is the best time to sail in Florida.

Zach

--
    -Zach
    --
  • Hi Jeff

Here are a few of cat regattas close to you that come to mind, right now. Send me your contact info I live in your area.

Greg

--
    Prindle 18 w/ wings, Prindle 16, Prindle 15, current
    Hobie 16 in rebuild
    2 Hobie 18 past
    NACRA 5.2 past