Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

hc16 with 14 feet mast and sail  Bottom

• Hello from Spain!!
    I can buy a HC16 but wiithout the standard 16 feet mast and sails, but the 14 feet size. I think that maybe the original mast broke or something like that, so they managed to mend it with parts of other ship.

I am 80 kg, (over 160 pounds) and I have been practicing windsurfing for five or six years. The place where I spend the summer has not very strong winds, so I can not practice windsurf, and I think that the hc can be a good option for solo sailing, or ocasionally with my wife, and maybe for my kids in the future (6 and 10 years old) but no all together!!

I dont really know what to expect from this ship. At first I was looking for and standard hc16, but I couldn´t find it here, and this ship is in the same beach where I am, so I don´t have to go to another place and carry it back, if I find one, that means I can sail this summer.

What do you think? My fear is that it won´t go smooth and fast with medium winds. What I really desire is to sail the ship as the windsurf board, I mean I love when it starts to rise and you have to go out and in all the time!!! I have been sailing the hc tiger and hc fox several times, but never as a master (never driving it, you know what i mean, i can find the word), and a hc 12 a few times as master, I have also practiced optimist and vaurien in the past

thanks a lot for your help
  • The economic factor is part of the decision? I would probably go for it for less than Eu50... I could then sell the wrong parts and get the right (used) ones probably for an overall price lower than the price of a complete H16 in similar shape.
    Even if you get it to sail smoothly, which doesn't seem unlikely, sooner or later you'll want to fix the mismatch or get something else. I would guess that this feeling will come within the first two weeks...