Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Rear Mast Holder for us guys with tall heavy masts. Makes life a lot easier stepping!  Bottom

• I've been setting up and breaking down my Hobie 20 a bunch lately, just me and my girlfriend, no one else around and I noticed while i'm shaking in my boots keeping the mast rotated 90* and centered on the boat, the first 15 feet going up and down with a 31' mast is intimidating to say the least. Last weekend we parked the boat in front of a mono hull boat on a trailer, its mast up, so we used their forward mast support to hold the mast up - diamond wires not touching anything, to get her on the winch and me on the tramp, mast stepper jin pole ( 6' ? )strapped in and raised and lowered the mast via winch starting it at about 7' high with me on the tramp only to keep the mast centered and at 90* twist. Wayyyyy Easier!! icon_eek

Being an audio engineer I built a mast support using one of my spare speaker stands ( designed for 100+ Lb speakers ) and some reinforced PVC covered with jumbo " fun noodle" to not scuff anything and walked it 7 paces aft of the rear crossbar so the mast lands a field goal about half way up the comp tip, I can then jump off the tramp, lift the mast tip end while the GF unpins the mast step and walks the mast to the front support.

Has anyone come up with a better/safer/easier way to quickly setup a large cat?
    Tim

http://i981.photobucket.com/albums/ae296/fxloop/IMG_0401_zpsb744f91a.jpg

--
    Tim Grover
    1996 Hobie Miracle 20
    Two Hobie 14's
    1983 G-Cat Restored
    Memphis TN / North Mississippi
    --
  • QuoteHas anyone come up with a better/safer/easier way to quickly setup a large cat?

tim,