Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Accidently drilled a few holes in deck during delamination repair  Bottom

• Any advice on how to repair holes that I accidentally drilled thru the deck during delamination repair? Will bondo work? icon_confused

--
    Mark

Prindle 16 and Laguna 18DS
    Ripon, WI
    --
  • OK I did the same thing. First I was using West Systems I have no experience with bondo. You want to get a countersink bit looks like this
    http://www.harborfreight.…ntersink-tool-68535.html
    http://www.harborfreight.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/i/m/image_15702.jpg

Use with a hand tool like the picture or on a variable speed drill but real easy. You just want to widen the top of your hole in so you have good access to fill in but you don't want to go all the way through it. however if you do , and I did you can still save it.

Once that is done. Mix up some epoxy and wet out the holes to fill with a small brush. Then thicken the epoxy to about peanut butter consistency and just putty it into the holes with your mixing stick. With Wests one batch(pump) of epoxy will take care of several holes. If your painting you want them to be a little higher than the surface so you can sand them fair. If you are gel coating then you may want them a little below the surface so you can fill in with gel coat. In my opinion it is easier to go higher and sand smooth.

I thickened mine with Wests colloidal silica can't remember the number. It makes for a pretty hard fill so takes a little more sanding but not to much. If your lazy with sanding you can use the high density filler (purple stuff) from Wests and it will sand a little easier.