Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

P18 vs P18.2 vs N5.0 vs N5.2 and maybe H18 or 19???  Bottom

• I'm brand new to this awesome site. I owned a H16 several years ago and had a lot of fun with the boat but did not like how it tended to dive and if I did not get a perfect tack it would get stuck in neutral. I sailed with a guy back then a couple of times on his P. it must have been an 18.2 cause it had daggerboards and wings and turned on a dime. He also had a roll up jib. it was real nice and smooth sailing. He was always sailing it by himself.
    Now I'm looking to get another cat but I want to take my boys ages 12 and 9. It needs to turn easy, have 2 trapeze lines, have room for 3 of us, and be stable when I'm getting sideways.
    I have been looking at the above cats and there's a P18 near me for a good price but I am concerned it will turn like my old H16 since the hulls are not rounded and it doesnt have daggers. I don't want to spend more than $2000 but for the right boat I might go to $3000.
    Can anyone here that has sailed these fill me in on the differences of each. I might get another H if it is what I want but no way will I ever buy another H16.
    Any direction would be appreciated thanks.
  • for 30 yo boats

generally the best condition, affordable boat near you is best

having said that if you want the best tacking and pointing then boardless boats should be bottom of your list

so i'd rank them 5.2, 18.2, h18, 5.0, P18

i also hate the way the h16 tacks and the jib hangs in light air

but i doubt the p18 would be anywhere near as bad

so go check it out

if you can arrange a test sail, always advisable

you'll find out how well it tacks
  • Every boat has it's nuances and you need to learn how the boat turns. When I started sailing a few years ago
    on my h18 I missed tacks all the time. With time on the water I never even think about the tack and rarely get