Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Mast Step: buy new or replace whole assembly?  Bottom

• Hey y'all, I wanted to start off by thanking everyone who has posted 'cause it has helped me a lot! I am new to Cats, and as it is not big in our area, having to learn everything solo...

I have looked but can't quite find an answer to a problem I've got- I have inherited an '87 H16, and it is/was in rough shape! (I NOW know why it was a gift!). Well, the Mast Step threads are stripped, and the Dolphin striker slides up and down through the crossbar and Step! If left as is, it would provide almost no support for the forward support and would damage the Mast Base. The Step is loose on the cross bar and has to be re-riveted anyway. Who knows what it looks like under there!!

Here's my dilemma: is there a way to repair the Step, or should I buy new? and if I buy new, should I replace the old Step (the mast base is in ok shape) with a new one or get the Nacra 1 1/2" ball and socket setup? (as seen at Murray's catalog) Any likes/dislikes for the prindle half ball socket?

Thanks in advance!

--
    Damon Cofer,
    Savannah, GA
    1987 Hobie 16
    "tenderfoot sailor"
    --
  • Buying new from Hobie will be an arm & leg. Very difficult to argue dolphin rod out of striker in order to replace step. And you don't want Nacra or Prindle. Easiest is to replace entire front crossbar with used one. Shipping about $120 UPS. I have them. Pete 909-800-5237
  • pbegleBuying new from Hobie will be an arm & leg. Very difficult to argue dolphin rod out of striker in order to replace step. And you don't want Nacra or Prindle. Easiest is to replace entire front crossbar with used one. Shipping about $120 UPS. I have them.

Truth.

--
    Sheet In!
    Bob
    _/)_____/)_/)____/)____/)_____/)/)__________/)__
    Prindle 18-2 #244 "Wakizashi"
    Prindle 16 #3690 "Pegasus" Sold (sigh)
    AZ Multihull Fleet 42 member
    (Way) Past Commodore of Prindle Fleet 14