Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Main and Jib Halyard - What is the best line to use?  Bottom

• I am relatively new to sailing and the Hobie 16 that I purchased at the end of last season is the first boat I have ever owned. I am pretty familiar with rigging and adjusting various features on the boat, however, I have never had to replace any rigging on any vessel. My question is what is the best line to use for the main and jib halyards? The manual calls for 1/4 inch halyard, 27' for the main and 21' for the jib. Should I be using dacron line for this? Or is there some other line out there that is best suited for this type of rigging. I worked at a summer camp where we had about 15 hobie 16s sailing each day, many of these boats were simply just thrown together with any extra parts we had laying around since we literally have a Hobie budget of $0.. however since this is my boat and I plan on keeping it for the long haul, I would like to make all of the necessary changes and do them the correct way. I am also looking to change my trampoline line, I've read on here that thinner line works best, but I am up for any suggestions.

Thanks.

--
    Dante Morsillo
    Hobie 16
    Pittsburgh, PA
    --
  • imho as the H16 halyard goes all the way to the top and then back down to the horn cleat

you don't want a cheap stretchy halyard that the downhaul will laugh at

either get an expensive thin non-stretch line or stick to stock sized sailing sheet

tramp line probably not so import BUT a tight tramp helps to hold an old/sloppy H16 tramp frame together

how sloppy is yours?
  • Get an actual main halyard for the 16, this is one of those do it right. The 16 hooks on the front of the mast, it does not tie off like most sail boats. The jib can be low stretch line but you need the metal halyard or the aussie rig. It has been many years since I sailed a 16 regularly but there are some things that are worth doing right. HTH, Ricardo.

--
    Lake Perry KS