Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

launching cat from boat ramp  Bottom

• Hi everyone,

I'm going to take my prindle 15 out for the first time this thursday. I've practiced rasing the mast a couple of times, and have worked out how the rudder system/ropes work (i'm a complete noob - i've never owned a boat before, let alone a catamaran).

I'm abit nervous about launching and retrieving the cat on a boat ramp from a trailer. I've never done this before. Can anyone offer a complete beginner any tips on how to do this? This is probably a stupid question, but do I reverse the trailer entirely into the water so the wheels are underwater? I'm hoping that i don't completely stuff up and block the boat ramp for too long :) Any tips for a complete boat newbie would be greatly appreciated :)

Cheers,
    Michael
  • Its best to stop the trailer so that the boat is still out of the water mostly and slide it off the trailer. I would also advise that you have the sails down when you do this.

--
    Greenville SC

Offering sails and other go fast parts for A-class catamarans
    --
  • My methods vary depending on weather, steepness of ramp, etc. In general I get the trailer in as far as I can without submerging the wheel bearings. Then push off and handle the boat in the water to get it pointed into the wind/waves. Having a second person who knows boats and can either man the boat or vehicles is (of course) a must. Doing it by yourself the first time would be pretty difficult.

If there is an onshore breeze (wind blowing from the water toward the launch point) or any kind of strong shifty breeze, no sails can be up during the process. Once in the water, I've been known to sail the boat on jib alone (easy to furl/unfurl on an H18) over to a beach before raising the main. You could do the same to get the boat over to a pier or mooring.