Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

P 16 rigging question  Bottom

• I relaized that my trap lines on my P16 are really loose so was wondering if someone has pics or advice on how much tension should be on the shock cord when the trap lines are not being used. I also have a question on the handle height, since it is really hard for my crew to swing back in after being out on the wire and wonder if they have too little leverage with the trap handles being too low? (Perhaps the wrong length of wire? if there are measurements that would be great

Thanks folks, I am quite new to Prindles after being a Hobie guy so feeling my way around here

--
    85 Prindle 16
    "If you aint the lead dog the view never changes"
    North Carolina
    --
  • Look at Andrews pic on "adjustable trap line" thread. I like 3:1 using a small fiddle block or clam cleat with roller and I like the handle very high so arm strength helps boost me out. Pete
  • thanks Pete, how can the handle be adjusted for height or cant it? just by longer/shorter wire length?

--
    85 Prindle 16
    "If you aint the lead dog the view never changes"
    North Carolina
    --
  • Take off your trap wires, take to West Marine (assuming you don't have a crimper). They usually have a rigging table. Cut off the desired amount remembering you'll need about 3" for the bend around thimble. Buy thimbles & nicopress sleeves (3/32) & re-crimp wires. If your wires come with aluminum bar stock for the handles, now is the time to buy new T handles (keeping focused not to put them on upside down). Afterward, add the 3:1 with fiddle block or clamcleat with roller to your dogbones (or if you have young kids going to be on the boat, buy (from Murrays) the Bethwaite ball & socket system & change out your hook for the carbon socket on your harness. More expensive, but much safer. Pete