Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Prindle 16 mainsail rides high above the boom  Bottom

• Folks,
    Just got Prindle 16('84 vintage) and we rigged it up in back yard and sail looks strange. If I bring sail all the way to the top of the mast so halyard will be engaged on the first catcher there is about 12"-16" clearance to the base of the boom. I can get it down a bit with a downhaul line but it still looks strange. I am new to dinghies and cats - always been sailing keel-boats but wanted to introduce my 14 year old to something faster then our 29" cruiser :)
    I had tried both mains that came with the boat and they are the same both say P-16 ...
    Also would it make sense to remove trapeze while we are no using trapeze yet?

Cheers,

SimDim
  • You are probably passively using the downhaul. Rig it at least 3:1 preferably 5:1, sheet the main in tight, then downhaul the sail hard. You'll see a difference. Could remove trap, but it makes a nice handle to lean out. Pete
  • Pete,
    Thank you for the reply. On my big boat I have a"witches hat" under the mast step so I can rig a downhaul with enough purchase, I can not relly see where would I put it on p16. Should I rivet a ring to the cross bar under the mast step ...
  • Rivit couple cheek blocks near bottom of mast. Pete