Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Nacra 5.0 Mast dent  Bottom

• I am looking at a Nacra 5.0 which is in pretty good shape except for a small dent (2in x 1.5in) in the mast 4 ft up from the base. No cracks or deviation. Any thoughts on how to repair this or reinforce? What would the cost be? or could it be left until it becomes a problem? Also I have been trying to find replacement mast online but have had little luck. Really would love to know what folks thought. I am new to cats. Should this be a deal killer. What would be smart options?

Thanks
  • Depends on the depth of the dent. I think we all have put one or two dings in the mast. If it's that small and as you describe it doesn't sound like it should be an issue.

--
    Dave Bonin
    1981 Nacra 5.2 "Lucile"
    1986 Nacra 5.7 "Belle"
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    --
  • Saw a tutorial a while ago where someone built an extension to a tailpipe expander and repaired a dent with it.

--
    Pete Knapp
    Schodack landing,NY
    Goodall Viper,AHPC Viper,Nacra I20
    --
  • Heres a photo
    http://www.thebeachcats.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=80871&g2_serialNumber=3

Thanks for any input
  • No diamond wires on the 5.0 mast?

I don't like the looks of that, if you were trying to make a mast fail by putting a dent into it, that's the direction you'd want the dent to run. It is pretty close to the base of the mast however, so I'm not sure how much side flex the mast would have in that area.

--
    Damon Linkous
    1992 Hobie 18
    Memphis, TN

How To Create Your Signature

How To Create Your Own Cool Avatar

How To Display Pictures In The Forums.
    --
  • Yes there are diamond wires on a 5.0 mast. That may help a bit.