Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Prindle 16 boom rigging  Bottom

• Aloha everyone! I have questions about rigging my Prindle 16 boom and don't see this topic addressed yet, so...

I have a 1982 P-16, which has the oval boom. I understand later years had a square boom, and rigging for those is different. My boat is a restoration project, and I am not (yet) a wind-powered sailor, so my knowledge of sailboat rigging is limited to what I've learned so far during the project. (A lot more than I knew to start with, but I'm still learning...)

I have a good outhaul car (actually two, one's a spare), and the way the line runs from it through a cheek block at least seems obvious--matches a photo in the manual, too.
    http://www.thebeachcats.com/index.php?module=pictures&g2_itemId=76027

But also inside the boom's outhaul track, there's a small cylinder with line through it, apparently some kind of slider, but because the attached line is cut & frayed & attached to nothing else, the purpose of the cylinder and it's attached line escapes me.
    http://www.thebeachcats.com/index.php?module=pictures&g2_itemId=76030

There are two line cleats on the boom, one on top alongside the boom's track. The manual shows this cleat as the anchor point and also cleating point for a line running to the mast rotator, but because the manual is for Prindle 15, 16, and 18, the photo's misleading. There is no mast rotator on the Prindle 16, but still there's this cleat.
    http://www.thebeachcats.com/index.php?module=pictures&g2_itemId=76033

The other cleat is on the bottom of the boom, and it appears to be to cleat the outhaul line. But if this is true, then the outhaul line would first be routed through the block hanger at the end of the boom. Can this be right?
    http://www.thebeachcats.com/index.php?module=pictures&g2_itemId=76036