Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

First sail for my rebuilt 5.7  Bottom

• Finally got my Nacra 5.7 reassembled. Left it on the back lawn for a few days because the wind was at just over 30 clicks (19 mph)& I've no experience with these larger cats. Finally it calmed down, & I decided to test rig it on the lawn, so as to make sure I knew how everything went together & worked, sort of like the old days testing production jets, do everything you can in a situation you can run away from!
    My first reaction was damn, that's a tall mast. Stepping the stick & getting all the standing rigging went fine, I set the spreader rake at 1 1/5", the shrouds just so the mast didn't wobble laterally, & the diamonds so a hard push made them touch at 12". When test hoisting the rags I ran into a few glitches. One manual shows two different systems for the jib, (step 60)mine has the bullet block with becket attached to jib halyard, but doesn't have a have a cheek block near the jam cleat,(that would give a 3:1 purchase). It only has the strap eye & jam cleat, so I am assuming that it was originally set up with just a bullet block on the end of the halyard, & set up is to tie line from strap eye, up through bullet block & down through jam cleat,(2:1).
    When hoisting the main,(step 59, also seems to show 2 different systems). I seem to have the second system, as there is a cheek block & strap eye near the bottom of the mast, but I am missing the "S" hook with attached V jam block.
    I ghetto rigged it by using a long bowline tied through the sail grommet, then down around cheek block, back up through sail grommet, down & tied off to strap eye.