Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Who handles it best and what configuration?  Bottom

• Hi,

I have sailed trapeze equipped day racers & ocean racing mono-hulls for over 40 years and I also fly very high performance gliders with L/D's of 50:1, therefore I think I have a fairly good idea of the performance of a good wing and the Bernoulli effect.

The big questions are I am new to cats in this day and age. I like what I see in the Nacra. I like the idea of being able to fly a spinnaker and I love speed.
    I don't know in this group who is familiar with the Corpus Christi area, but the wind is always blowing here. The bay is huge, but has its drawbacks of channels, then shallows and channels. Primarily I believe the bottom to be sand, but correct me if I am wrong. I want to sail after my days at work, but have not been able to find one rental outfit for one cat or otherwise. Yet commerce rates Corpus as the sailors paratise!
    What boat could be sailed as a single handed rig, but also handles up to 3 people or 4 on rare occasions? What boat can handle steady strong wind? It is regularly blowing 15+ with some days 30+. Can I reef the main? Will this same boat can it also handle a beech launch off San Padre through the surf and surfing surf?

Please give me feedback. Many thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Freeflight
  • You might search the old posts for other similar discussions, they seem to happen every month or so. Likely a 17 foot boat would be good for you. Maybe find a F17 with a spin. Hitting any kind of bottom (sand or rocks) while at speed will cause major damage to your boat, especially if you have dagger boards, which all modern performance cats do I believe. If you have money to spend and are hard core, check out the Hobie Wildcat or Nacra 20 Carbon. If sailing solo in 30+ make sure you have an updated life insurance policy.

Not sure I know of a boat you can single hand in 15-30 with a spin that also handles 3-4 people well.

--