Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Adding a hooter to an ACAT.  Bottom

• I got the deal of the century on a Acat out of Long Beach on Ebay. I am considering putting on a hooter. I did see a video of a spin on one and watching that it looked like a lot of trouble to raise and lower where the hooter is much simpler. Does anyone have experience on the acats that might have an opinion.
  • I've seen the video I think, pretty cool.

A-Cats are very high performance cats as is, do you have much experience beachcats?

Please fill out your profile (link in main menu) so people can get to know you and give better advise.

--
    Damon Linkous
    1992 Hobie 18
    Memphis, TN

How To Create Your Signature

How To Create Your Own Cool Avatar

How To Display Pictures In The Forums.
    --
  • I have been sailing cats for 23 years. I started at 16 on a hobie 16 and did well racing locally. I moved up to a prindle 18 in my early 20's and did even better with that. I still have my prindle 18 and love sailing it. I only got the Acat when I put a bid on it with no reserve and a $.99 opening bid. No one else bid so I got the boat for a buck. I plan to race it when I don't have anyone who wants to crew on my p18 or to just enjoy it's performance.
  • WOW! .99 lucky guy!

there is a video out there of a guy with an Acat with a spin. he has one of those snail snuffers that sucks the sail in in about 1 second.. looks crazy... but neat.

I have sailed on a-cats. the performance was nice.. the helm was sooooo light. even in 15knots it took nothing to sheet or travel...

that being said.. i felt like the cat could capsize.. or be blown off the water in a gust. i know a local pro racer who had that exact thing happen .. in a gust he became airborne and the cat was destroyed. they are delicate!!!!!!