Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Hobie 16 jib - sail attached to halyard cable?  Bottom

• I just bought an old Hobie 16, and everything on it is rigged wrong. If a part can possibly be installed backwards or upside down, it is! I'm no expert myself, so it's a bit of a puzzle trying to figure out how to rig everything correctly. Luckily, I have this forum for help. icon_smile

The jib has a wire/cable that runs through a pocket on the luff edge of the sail. The top end of the wire has a thimble (loop) for shackling to the jib halyard, and the bottom end of the wire has thimble for shackling to the forestay adjuster thingamabob. The sail has a grommet on the head and another grommet on the foot/tack.

So, my question is: should the grommets on the jib be attached to anything, in particular should they be attached to the thimbles on the wire that runs through the luff of the sail?

The way it was when I got it, the grommet on the head of the jib was lashed, with some thin line, to the thimble on the top end of the wire. The grommet at the tack of the jib was attached to nothing. (Seems to me that that grommet must be there for a reason, so it should be attached to something.)

Any help/advice appreciated. Sorry if I've screwed up the terminology!

Duncan
  • the tack (front/bottom) goes to the adjuster on the bridal wires (at the bows)

the clew (foot) gets little blocks and is attached to the jib sheets on each side of the mast (on the beam)

The head of the sail (grommet) gets attached somehow to the halyard... i will leave it to the H16 to give you more specific answers as i haven't rigged a h16 in about 5 years.

http://www.hobiecat.com/support/pdfs/H16_Manual.pdf
  • Here you go Duncan. http://www.hobiecat.com/s…ort/pdfs/PARTS_14-16.pdf

This link to the Hobie parts guide illustrates the jib and thimble rig.