Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Nacra 5.7  Bottom

• Hello,

I have been sailing a prindle 16 for about the past 15 years and decided that it is time for an upgrade to a bigger faster cat. I have been looking at Nacras 5.5s, 5.8s, and 5.2s and also prindle 19s. Basically anything larger than 16' and with daggerboards.

I happen to come across an older nacra 5.7 for what I thought to be a great deal and was wondering if this will be much of an upgrade from the p16 or if I should hold out for something with daggerboards. What are peoples thoughts of the 5.7? Is there any comparison between the 5.7 and the 5.8 performance wise or would I be wasting my time with the 5.7?
  • the 5.7 is a very fast cat in a straight line with no daggers and long, pitch resistant hulls but it's relatively high handicap number shows it struggles to get to wind as well as any of the boarded cats

the 5.5 and 5.2 can regularly be soloed and go to weather well but are not quite as fast in a straight line

the 5.8 probably has about the same speed as the 5.7 but also goes upwind well, however soloing it may be a bit much in anything but light winds

a lot will depend on where you sail, a smallish deep lake may make pointing more important than speed

an ocean beach with long fast reaches and a surf entry may make a board-less cat better

your call

if the 5.7 is a great deal i would buy it anyway

you can probably always sell it for near what you bought it for if you decide on something else later

Edited by erice on Aug 27, 2011 - 09:17 PM.
  • I agree, I've been lusting after a 5.7 from the beginning. No boom, no boards, very fast, very stable I love that boat. I helped convince EC Hilliard on here to buy a 5.7 several years ago and I think he is pretty happy with it. He also solo's his quite a bit so hopefully he will chime in over the next couple of days.

If you do buy it and don't like it you could always sell it to me. Of course the shipping would be tough...