Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

New Sailor needs help with Mast Rake  Bottom

• Hello all, I am new to the sport and hobby of beachcat sailing. I picked up my first cat, it is a 1980 G-Cat 5.0 the previous owner had his own ideas of how to rig the boat and make repairs. I will be rehabbing almost the entire boat and have a question on the proper rake for the mast. After stepping the mast for the fist time the forestay was to 12" to short to attach to the front crossmember and the mast rake was tremendous. It also appears as thought the mast was cut down from the base about 1"-2", I can rerig to accomadate new dimensions but i do not know the recommended rake for this boat, any information would be very helpful, thank you. Dustin
  • The forestay should attach to a bridle and the eyestrap on the front beam is to attach the tack of the jib....thats how our 5.0 is setup anyway....hope it helps
  • On a g-cat with no daggerboards you probably want a little mast rake, the top of the mast should probably be a foot or two behind the front beam (any g-cat owners with more of an idea?). So you can probably take some fo the rake out of the mast and get the forestay to hook on correctly (just make sure it isn't canted forward!!).

The forestay should attach to the bridle foil using a 10 hole adjuster to allow you to rake the mast. If you need more length for the forestay you can attach a second 10 hole adjuster above the first. The shrouds should each have an 8-10 hole adjuster to attach to the hulls.

A 2" shortening of the mast shouldn't affect much.

A couple of pics would help us help you. Make up a personal album on the site and point us in the right direction.

Regards,
    Dave

Edited by Wolfman on May 25, 2011 - 02:00 PM.

--
    Dave Bonin
    1981 Nacra 5.2 "Lucile"
    1986 Nacra 5.7 "Belle"
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    --