Should I get a Nacra 5.8

I have been thinking about purchasing a sailing catamaran. I have been sailing for about 4 years, and to be honest I have only ever sailed monohulls

I have been contemplating on purchasing a Nacra 5.8. I found one for sale for 1,900USD. The seller says it was made in 1972, but they only started to make the in 1982.

Is it out of my league?
Is the price fair?
Do you have any tips, suggestions, advice?
Anything helps. I am happy to answer additional questions.

Here are the images of the catamaran.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ZRMVvLw0fsIWaqFt95wnSTy05A-7_RITfxdkw08sE_I/edit?usp=sharing
I have a saying ... "Life is short, buy the boat!"

I have a friend who has a 5.8 and have been on it many times. It can be an exhilarating ride when the wind picks up. It is hard to tell much from those pictures but it is a nicer looking example of a 5.8.

Grab someone who knows cats and have them go with you to look at it. Buy him a couple of beers and then convince him to join you on the boat for some lessons. If you are going out alone, make sure you have a water bag.

Cat sailing is tons of fun!!

--
dk

Blade F-16
Hobie 14
Corsair F-242
Mirage 25 (Sold)
Hobie Tiger (Sold)
Hobie Tiger (Sold)
TomCat 6.2 (Sold)
--
If the Trailex trailer comes with the boat and the boat is as good as it looks, I'd say it is worth the price.

--
dk

Blade F-16
Hobie 14
Corsair F-242
Mirage 25 (Sold)
Hobie Tiger (Sold)
Hobie Tiger (Sold)
TomCat 6.2 (Sold)
--
Thank you so much for hour help. I read that some are Full glass and others are foam sandwich. Do you have a guess which one it is?
startingsalorThank you so much for hour help. I read that some are Full glass and others are foam sandwich. Do you have a guess which one it is?

IIRC, they went to foam core in '85. You need to look at the serial number on the starboard hull near the transom.

--
Philip
--