Nacra 570 aftermarket sails

I'm a total beginner and just acquired a Nacra 570 with sails that are starting to delaminate... My current mainsail should last awhile but I'm looking at replacements already icon_frown

Looks like a new Nacra 570 mainsail runs about $2K ...

Any alternatives that people are using that provide better value(same quality, lower price or better quality, same price)? I've seen a few videos a Hobie sails on Nacras what's with that?

Thanks!
Chip from whirlwind
he is a sailor - been in the business a long time
makes a great sail at a very fair price

http://www.whirlwindsails.com/nacra.html

I purchased 3 sails from him last year
http://www.whirlwindsails.com/uploads/2/2/4/7/22474386/editor/nacra-570.jpg?1543441952

QuoteI've seen a few videos a Hobie sails on Nacras what's with that?

there are SOME sails that will work decent on other boats
it is kinda rare and a poor match could have some bad results (poor helm, too much power, too much power forward, etc)

people usually would do that when they can't afford a new sail and or don't care about performance issues that may come with doing this or have the knowledge to know what sailshape and length will translate to on the water

i have purchased many tornado sails for my mysteres but that is a very similar boat, sailplan, hardware, etc

i now have custom sailes cut for my needs but will put a smaller f18 main on in higher wind (for less power)

If you are new, and don't know a lot about sail shape, and pros and cons of different shape, plus mast settings, ... i would stick with a new 5.7 main and jib sail from Chip - if you can afford it - its very nice to have sails that are very responsive

Edited by MN3 on Oct 02, 2020 - 03:38 PM.
Unless you're racing, get dacron. Cheaper and will last for decades.

--
Bill Townsend
G-Cat 5.0
Sarasota
--
MN3Chip from whirlwind

http://www.whirlwindsails.com/uploads/2/2/4/7/22474386/editor/nacra-570.jpg?1543441952