Range of beachcats?

So I am a newbie to the world of beachcats, but what's the longest distance anyone has sailed? I am trying to see if I am going to be too ambitious taking on the Deleware Bay from Cape May, NJ on my Nacra 5.8. Trip across is about 12 miles....??? Thinking a sail there and back in a day?? 24 miles within 8-12 hours?

Has anyone circumnavigated with a beach cat

--
William
Nacra 5.8 (SpiderGorilla/SpiderMonkey)
--
I seem to recall reading about a beach cat crossing the Atlantic, not sure about going around Cape Horn personally I think that would take a death wish. Some of the folks I sail with do the GT300 which is a 300 mile jaunt up the Texas coast.

--
Mike Brady
Sugar Land, TX
Sailing off Magnolia Beach in Lavaca Bay TX
http://358degrees.blogspot.com/
P16 "Pooh Cat"
--
The distance doesn't sound bad. I used to sail on Lake Buchanan in Texas. It's 5mi x 25mi. We sailed across it all the time. One time I decided to sail up its length and back. I doubt I hit the far point, but I figured we easily put in 40 miles on that outing. When we got back to our camp site, we decided to get back on the boat and keep sailing. So it wasn't even a full day.

But that's a lake. Not an ocean. The wind is different, the waves are different, lakes don't get currents the way oceans do, etc. etc. etc. Nine times out of ten it's not the distance that'll get you. It's the conditions. There's a 30 mile stretch here that would be a snap if it wasn't for the waves (often 15-20' seas) and the wind (35+ knots is typical).

Your best bet is to ask people who sail out of Cape May to see if they think it's a sane idea. If they get bug-eyed while you're describing your idea, that's a bad sign. At the very least I'd be cautious of the tides and winds. Tides coming out of a bay as big as the Delaware Bay can be nasty. And if the wind dies on you or speeds up to the point where you're massively over-powered, that's a recipe for disaster.