logo catamaran sailing at TheBeachcats.com
    
Lost Password?  Register free!

Supporters of TheBeachcats.com

Thanks go to our
Business Sponsors

 

You can help too!


Ad Block


Bottom
possible scam
  • Posted: 17.08.2008, 03:42
       
    sailboy98
    rank:
    Lubber Lubber
    registered:
     May 2008
    Status:
    offline
    last visit:
    17.08.08
    Posts:
    3
    We are receiving a reply to our Classified ad for our Nacra 5.2 from Sharyntonite@hotmail.com - has anyone else been getting a response from that e-mail?

    The person is very insistent about getting our information to send a payment and has asked NO questions regarding the boat. She/he has responded to our e-mails but still just wants to send us money-no info about how they will pick up boat etc. They claim to be from Pompano Beach but working on oil rig in the Gulf - we finally gave our mailing address and told them there would be no refunds of any kind and the boat is sold as is/where is.

    Just curious if this may be a scam going around....Its always nice to sell a boat but not if its going to be a big hassle.

    Any info would be appreciated. Thanks
    Sam and Karen Craig

    --
    Sailboy98
    --
  • Posted: 17.08.2008, 04:50
     
    popeyez7
    rank:
    Lubber Lubber
    registered:
     April 2004
    Status:
    offline
    last visit:
    02.11.08
    Posts:
    45
    If they want a refund....... it's a scam. The money order/check they send you is fake, and you don't know it yet and you send them a refund, yer out of that $$$$
    To make a long story short~~ ya screwed yourself
    ( it was tried on me, but I knew better and had some fun with them~~~ LOL)

    --
    popeyez7
    --
  • Posted: 17.08.2008, 05:21
     
    derekd
    rank:
    Lubber Lubber
    registered:
     August 2008
    Status:
    offline
    last visit:
    17.08.08
    Posts:
    2
    As long as you don't let them take the boat before the funds clear the bank, you'll be ok.

    That being said, it sounds like a scam.
  • Posted: 17.08.2008, 06:23
     
    popeyez7
    rank:
    Lubber Lubber
    registered:
     April 2004
    Status:
    offline
    last visit:
    02.11.08
    Posts:
    45
    Yer right....I forgot to mention that, so keep it & sail it

    --
    popeyez7
    --
  • Posted: 17.08.2008, 08:14
       
    damonAdmin
    rank:
    Admiral Admiral
    registered:
     November 2002
    Status:
    offline
    last visit:
    06.11.08
    Posts:
    173
    sailboy98We are receiving a reply to our Classified ad for our Nacra 5.2 from Sharyntonite@hotmail.com - has anyone else been getting a response from that e-mail?


    When you get these scam emails, please forward them so I can ban the username of the scammer from contacting anyone else. There are instructions at the bottom of the contact seller emails.

    Also, make sure you don't put your email address in the description of your ad. Your just asking for scam contacts, and I can't do anything about them if I don't know who the scammer is.


    --
    Damon Linkous
    Owner, TheBeachcats.com
    Hobie 18 Magnum
    Memphis, TN
    --
  • Posted: 17.08.2008, 08:15
       
    damonAdmin
    rank:
    Admiral Admiral
    registered:
     November 2002
    Status:
    offline
    last visit:
    06.11.08
    Posts:
    173
    derekdAs long as you don't let them take the boat before the funds clear the bank, you'll be ok.


    They usually don't want the boat, just the money, but having the check "clear the bank" doesn't help, it can take months for a bank to discover the counterfeit, they still take the money back from you.


    --
    Damon Linkous
    Owner, TheBeachcats.com
    Hobie 18 Magnum
    Memphis, TN
    --