Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

New SLO Sails  Bottom

• My new set of SLO sails arrived today and do they look cool. I don't have the battens yet, so can't raise the sails yet, but this old boat is going to rock very soon. I am no expert on buying sails, but so far these sails and the tramp I bought from SLO show very high quality workmanship and finishing. Working with Andrew at SLO was pleasant, informative and very prompt.

Here is a quick look at these sails laying on the ground:
    https://youtu.be/sthb-xXOzrk

Dark blue hulls, tangerine sails and black standing rigging are going to be the new rage.

This End Up should be flying soon.

dg

--
    dg
    NACRA 5.2 #400
    This End Up
    Original owner since 1975
    --
  • Very, VERY, nice!!!!! I can't wait to see your boat finished!!! I really like the arrow pointing up on the sail, that's great and shows a sense of humor and I have always thought that name, "This End Up", is just fantastic!!!! Have to ask, what's the monohull in the back?

--
    Marty
    1984 Hobie 16 Redline Yellow Nationals, "Yellow Fever"
    Opelika, Al / Lake Martin
    --
  • It is a J30 hull #281. Not quite as old as my Nacra, but close. I decided that if I was going to slow down on a monohull I should make the adjustment as painless as possible. This boat has a reputation for being pretty fast for a monohull. It is about smiles per mile and hopefully once a very long list of fixes and upgrades are done I can stop the sweating part and do some smiling. Working on the Nacra last summer made me realize that it is not about the age of the boat, it is about the features of the boat design. The 5.2 has many of the things I like to see in a cat, it is fast, it is a pretty simple and effective rig, it looks fantastic, sails extremely well and every now and then it literally throws me for a loop.

dg

--
    dg
    NACRA 5.2 #400
    This End Up
    --