Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

New here: Which boat??  Bottom

Go to page 1 - 2 [+1]:

• Hey guys. New here from Harlingen, Tx. I have a shallow bay(lower laguna madre) that is huge and beautiful and am looking for a new hobby to get my wife and children into. I have four kids but I only see two of them sailing with me and my wife anytime soon.

Total weight will be 300-400#. I'm not looking for a spirited sail but more for a leisurely pace in some very shallow water so we can explore the bay.

My budget right now is set to $2k.

It needs to be easy to solo setup/right/etc. My wife is 100# soaking wet so I'm not sure how much help she will be physical wise.

My experience is limited to sailing a handful of times on a Sunfish, Nacra 5.0, and Wave. I'd buy a Wave if I could but I can't find one in budget. I'm strongly considering an H16, due to price and availability, but I have no experience with them. If I have to sacrifice anything it would be performance. I am going the cat route because I need a shallow draft.

Thank you all for the help!
  • Hobie Getaway meets your criteria except price will be higher

--
    Tim
    Collierville (Memphis), TN
    Supercat 15--sold :(
    Hobie monocat--given
    Vanguard 15--traded for...
    Nacra 4.5--sold
    Nacra 5.7
    Hobie 14–sold to make room for...
    Supercat 17–sold
    --
  • Also, there is a Supercat 17 in Houston. It's in the classifieds here and on Craigslist. SC is a great boat. You may have to negotiate a bit to get your price but it should work for you

--
    Tim
    Hobie monocat--given
    Nacra 4.5--sold
    Nacra 5.7
    Supercat 17–sold
    --
  • There is a Prindle 18 south of Victoria for sale, says it's ready to sail for $1000. Would be nice to go under budget and have money left for replacing a few things. Look for it in Houston craigslist.