Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Rudder Covers  Bottom

• Anybody use these Murray's brand rudder covers?:

http://www.murrays.com/31-3101.html

My main concern is how well the outer materials hold up to the sun. I've been using a set of Hobie covers since 2010, and, while most Hobie stuff is top-notch, these haven't held up very well. (I won them at a regatta raffle....would be pretty disappointed if I'd bought them). Thanks!

--
    Jerome Vaughan
    Hobie 16
    Clinton, Mississippi
    --
  • Don't know about those but Chuck and I both use the Murray's nacra rudder covers. Mine have spent more time in the box than in the sun over the last 7 years. They would not have lasted had they been in the sun. Chuck's are falling apart. Guess that's why they are not on the website anymore. I've got a set of Aquata covers that are on my spare gen 1 rudders that look great and seem well made, but have never been in the sun. Can't find Aquata equipment anymore though.

--
    Ron
    Nacra F18
    Reservoir Sailing Assn.
    Brandon, Mississippi
    --
  • After some research and opinions from friends I pulled the trigger on a pair of rudder covers from Slo. They look well constructed and slightly larger and thicker than the Hobie or Murrays made ones. $60 was a good deal too!

--
    Tim Grover
    1996 Hobie Miracle 20
    Two Hobie 14's
    1983 G-Cat Restored
    Memphis TN / North Mississippi
    --
  • To get any kind of cover to last in the sun daily is difficult.
    Even the high dollar Sunbrella or Top Gun material is only guaranteed for 5 years.
    And if the thread is not Tenara, even less.
    Rudder covers can last 20 years in the cat box.

--
    Sheet In!
    Bob
    _/)_____/)_/)____/)____/)_____/)/)__________/)__
    Prindle 18-2 #244 "Wakizashi"
    Prindle 16 #3690 "Pegasus" Sold (sigh)
    AZ Multihull Fleet 42 member
    (Way) Past Commodore of Prindle Fleet 14
    Arizona, USA
    --
  • Sunbrella has a 10 year warranty.